Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Magisterial District Court

COVID-19 Emergency Rental Assistance Program (ERAP)​

Proposed Plan for the Reestablishment of the Magisterial Districts within the 43rd Judicial District​

The Magisterial District Courts are commonly referred to as the Minor Judiciary of Monroe County and are composed of nine Magisterial District Judges who are elected for a six (6) year term and are state employees. Each Magisterial District Judge maintains an office located geographically within his or her district.

District Judges have jurisdiction over summary offenses, traffic violations, and matters arising under the Landlord and Tenant Act, and civil claims not exceeding $12,000.00. They preside over preliminary arraignments, fix and accept bail, issue warrants, and hold preliminary hearings, as well as act as the committing judge in all criminal proceedings.

Additionally, each MDJ is responsible for working Emergency Duty 5-6 weeks per year, to ensure the timely availability of justice outside normal business hours.


Kathy Sauter, Deputy Court Administrator - Special Courts

Tracy Berthel, Administrative Assistant

Magisterial District Court Administration

610 Monroe Street Suite 221
Stroudsburg, PA 18360

Phone: (570) 517-3088
Fax: (570) 517-3879

Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Monday - Friday
Closed all major holidays